I’m not sure the automatic map being re-created is bug. There’s a checkbox on the settings screen that tells the plugin to always re-create the map when the post is saved (or not). Uncheck that box and it should remember your changes, otherwise it’ll just overwrite them on each save. Please see the details in the documentation.
I’ll look into the tooltips, though, to see why the checkbox isn’t working, and why the title is showing the lat/lng.