Manual Plugin Installation

This document explains how to manually install MapPress.  Once installed, MapPress can be updated through the WordPress plugins screen.

Remove Old Version

If you already have an existing version of MapPress installed, you need to delete it before installing a new version.  This will not delete your maps.

To delete the existing version:

  1. Log in to your blog
  2. From the WordPress dashboard, go to the Plugins menu
  3. Underneath the MapPress plugin, click the ‘deactivate’ link
  4. After the plugin is deactivated, click the ‘delete’ link

Installation

  1. Log in to your account at http://mappresspro.com/account
  2. Click on the version you want to download
    image
  3. Save the plugin .zip file to your computer.
    image
  4. Log in to your blog
  5. From the dashboard, go to the menu Plugins -> Add New
  6. You should now be at the WordPress ‘Install Plugins’ screen.  Click the ‘Upload Plugin’ button.
  7. WordPress will ask you where the plugin file is.  Click the ‘choose file’ button and navigate to the directory where the plugin .zip file was saved.  Then click the ‘Install Now’ button.
    Tip: If you’re using Safari on a Mac, be sure to turn off automatic unzipping first (see ‘Troubleshooting’ below).
  8. WordPress should now install the plugin.

Troubleshooting

  • Bad Zip File in Safari
    If you’re using a Mac, Safari is often set to unzip .zip files automatically.  If this happens you’ll see the plugin as a folder on your desktop rather than a .zip file and you won’t be able to install (you’ll get an error like ‘PCZIP_ERR_BAD_FORMAT‘).You can turn off automatic unzipping for one download by control -clicking on the file link and choose “Download Linked File as…”.  Or, you can turn it off permanently using:
    Safari->Preferences->General
    Uncheck “Open Safe Files After Downloading”
  • Destination folder already exists
    If you get this error when installing, it’s because the old plugin version needs to be deleted before installing the new one.  See the ‘Remove Old Version’ section above.
  • Blank Screen after Installation
    If you get a blank screen after installation, don’t panic – there is a compatibility problem or conflict with the new plugin version.  Use an FTP client to delete the plugin directory and your blog should return to normal.